A work in progress

I thought for my first post after coming out of hiding should show the way a concept comes together for me.  This piece is still in process, so this post will only be able to bring us to where I am now.

I was contacted by Mr. S D Smith to make a new illustration for the newest edition of “The Fledge Chronicles”.  I read it, and as always, I laughed much.  I wanted to capture a scene in the story where a fight is just about to break out.  It happens in a diner.  For some reason, Edward Hopper’s painting “Nighthawks” Came to mind.  Below is the preliminary sketch alongside Edward Hopper’s famous original:

Yes, they really start out this bad!
Yes, they really start out this bad!
Here I moved the bully into the diner, but it just wasn't working.
Here I moved the bully into the diner, but it just wasn’t working.
Much happier with the redesign.
Much happier with the redesign.
5 thoughts on “A work in progress

  1. your process is better than a lot of finished products I have seen. However, I am glad that you abandoned a work modeled on something already created for something straight from your own fevered brain….

  2. so cool to see your process and the wonderful things that result! i think it’s cool how you started out, getting inspiration from someone else’s work and then coming up with something completely different that has your unique stamp on it. you gotta start somewhere, right? great work!

Leave a Reply

