Character Design

I have a friend who is in the process of writing a graphic novel.  He wanted me to create a look for a main character.  I haven’t really settled on anything, but below are my many iterations of the same character.  We’ll see what happens over time.

I start out with a really loose sketch
I start out with a really loose sketch

 

Try a little more realistic...and don't like it
Try a little more realistic…and don’t like it
Try a bit more cartoony.  Still don't know how I feel about it.
Try a bit more cartoony. Still don’t know how I feel about it.

 

Added a little color and some other iterations.
Added a little color and some other iterations.
I kind of like this approach to the character.
I kind of like this approach to the character.
Here's another random character from the book.
Here’s another random character from the book.

 

A graphic novel would be a whole lot of time investment, so here’s hoping something materializes someday.

 

signature

Leave a Reply

